Student Life

Athletics

Boys Basketball game

Denny International Middle School is a wonderfully diverse school, offering several sports. In keeping with our motto, “We All Belong,” any student who wants to participate in a sport will have a chance to learn and play. All teams promote teamwork and togetherness in working towards a common goal. Effort, determination, good sportsmanship and scholarship (2.0 or above GPA) are a must for those wishing to participate in sports.

Requirements to Participate in Sports

Physicals: A physical in the last 24 months is required for all sports.  The physical is then good for 24 calendar months.  Your scholar's doctor can fill out the SPS physical form based on the last wellness exam or physical if it was within the last 24 months. If your scholar needs a physical, the Denny School-Based Health Center here at the school provides them free of charge.  An appointment must be made for a sports physical.  To make an appointment, call 206-923-2809.

Health Insurance: A scholar must have health insurance to play a sport.  If not covered by a parent/guardian's insurance plan, insurance can be purchased through SPS at this link: SPS Insurance .
 
Forms: The following forms will need to be completed and submitted in advance:

  • Student Athletic Registration and Physical Forms
  • Parent Guardian Release Form (sport specific)
  • SPS Concussion and Sudden Cardiac Arrest Awareness form
  • OST Program Registration paperwork (to plan for transportation)

All forms (except OST) are available on the SPS District Athletics page .  Scholars can also pick up sports packets (with these forms included) in the main office.

General Information

Teams: For all sports, there is a Varsity team for more experienced players and a JV team for those learningand/or building skills.  Coaches place players on teams based on skill.

Practice Days: Overall, practice days and times for each sport are determined by the coach.  Practices are typically twice a week.  Practices are scheduled during the week right after school and can fall on any weekday except Wednesday.  See individual sports below for specific practice times, which are posted once they are available,

Transportation for games: A bus is provided by the district to and from games.  Players may ride with a parent/guardian if the coach is notified.  Parents/guardians are highly encouraged to attend games to support their scholars. 

Transportation after practice: The activity bus will be in the bus zone ad Denny at 4:30 p.m.  OST registration is required for activity bus transportation.

Questions?

Contact Denny Athletic Director: Tereso (Ted) Rodriguez terodriguez@seattleschools.org , 206-252-9033

Sports Schedules available on the district website at this link:  SPS schedules


Fall Sports

Girl's Soccer

Head Coach: Anastasi Tschida, 206-683-9211, astschida@gmail.com  
Assistant Coach: Michael Anderson, mianderson@seattleschools.org
Assistant Coach: Herman Garcia 

Co-Ed Ultimate Frisbee

Head Coach: Joe Espinoza, jaespinoza@seattleschools.org
Assistant Coach: Elizabeth Wisdom,  edwisdom@seattleschools.org

 


Winter Sports

Boy's Basketball

Head Coach: Torio Manning, 206.891.3611,   trmanning@seattleschools.org
Assistant Coach: Jonathon Harris, 206.354.3272,    jonathanharris206@yahoo.com


Girl's Basketball

Head Coach: Joe Espinoza, 720.309.1137,   jaespinoza@seattleschools.org


Spring Sports

Boy's Soccer

Denny Soccer Player standing on sidelines of Soccer field

Head Coach: Roberto Gutierrez
rsgutierrez@seattleschools.org
Assistant Coach: Herman Garcia hegarcia@seattleschools.org

 


Girl's Volleyball

Head Coach: Gary Lai gglai@seattleschools.org
Assistant Coach: TBD


Co-Ed Track

Head Coach: Daley Evans,  fdevans@seattleschools.org
Assistant Coach: Alan Blackman,  atblackman@seattleschools.org